Monday, October 20, 2008

MotoMorphic JaFM#2: Work in progress…

The second iteration of the MotoMorphic JaFM#1 is on its way...

Pics: MotoMorphic

We first wrote about the MotoMorphic JaFM#1 back in June this year. Well, Jim Davis (MotoMorphic founder) and his team are hard at work and the bike is now being further developed. The MotoMorphic JaFM#2 seems to be on its way…

Based on an Aprilia Falco, the MotoMorphic JaFM#1 features a custom-built chassis (made of 6061-T6 tubing and CNC machined billet 6061) which also serves as the fuel tank, custom-made swingarm, Ohlins fork, Penske monoshock and Brembo brakes.

The bike’s 990cc, DOHC, 8-valve, liquid-cooled Rotax v-twin, mated to a six-speed gearbox, makes 108bhp and 91Nm of torque, and the bike runs humungous rubber – a 250-section front tyre and a 300-section rear.

The JaFM#1 has now been tested for about 1,000km and #2 may not be very far away. In the meanwhile, you can visit the MotoMorphic website here for more details and updates.

Also see:
The coolest, maddest, wildest scooter ever!
Confederate Fighter: The most expensive Christmas present ever...
Diesel power: Clatter and roll...
The world's first supercharged KTM RC8...
1992 Kawasaki ZX-7R based special...
Specials from Febur and Icon
Supercharged Honda VFR800...
Big CC Racing's Kawasaki ZZR1400 Turbo!

Elsewhere today:
Riding the mighty Honda RC45...
The joys of riding... a Honda Gold Wing!

Sunday, October 19, 2008

2008 Malaysian MotoGP: Race results from Sepang

The Malaysian GP was rather boring... Still, Rossi finished in first place, followed by Pedrosa in second, Dovizioso in third and Hayden in fourth places

2008 Malaysian Grand Prix: Race results from Sepang

1. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team (B) 43min 6.007 sec
2. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team (B) 43min 10.015 sec
3. Andrea Dovizioso ITA JiR Team Scot MotoGP (M) 43min 14.543 sec
4. Nicky Hayden USA Repsol Honda Team (M) 43min 14.865 sec
5. Shinya Nakano JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini (B) 43min 16.590 sec
6. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team (B) 43min 19.647 sec
7. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 43min 21.943 sec
8. Colin Edwards USA Tech 3 Yamaha (M) 43min 24.809 sec
9. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 43min 29.181 sec
10. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP (M) 43min 31.523 sec
11. John Hopkins USA Kawasaki Racing Team (B) 43min 33.616 sec
12. Anthony West AUS Kawasaki Racing Team (B) 43min 47.406 sec
13. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Alice Team (B) 43min 51.624 sec
14. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini (B) 43min 55.100 sec
15. Toni Elias SPA Alice Team (B) 44min 5.146 sec
16. Marco Melandri ITA Ducati Marlboro Team (B) 44min 9.335 sec
17. Nobuatsu Aoki JPN Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 44min 54.370 sec


James Toseland GBR Tech 3 Yamaha (M)
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team (M)

Full race report here

More images from the Malaysian Grand Prix...

Also see:
2008 MotoGP race results and MASSIVE collection of MotoGP wallpaper...
Classic: The 200mph, 1950s NSU 500 Kompressor...
In conversation with Alex Criville, 1999 500cc world champ
Valentino Rossi: "The first time..."
John Surtees speaks out against traction control...
Board-track racing: 160km/h on wooden planks, with no brakes...

Elsewhere today:
Eddie Lawson is still winning at Laguna Seca...!
Riding the Wall of Death!
Jeremy Clarkson simply should not be writing about bikes and/or bikers...
An old interview with Casey Stoner...



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato