Friday, January 29, 2010

2010 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Valentino Rossi vs Usain Bolt

free image hostfree image host
Usain Bolt vs Valentino Rossi. The Doctor must win...

To be held on the 10th of March in Abu Dhabi, the capital city of the United Arab Emirates, the 2010 Laureus World Sports Awards will see two of the greatest athletes of our time facing off for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award. While others are also in the running, the two candidates that seem to have the biggest chance of winning the award are Jamaica’s Usain Bolt and Italy’s Valentino Rossi.

Usain Bolt, Time magazine’s 2009 Person of the Year, won the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award last year and is said to be a strong contender for this year’s award as well. He is currently the world’s fastest runner, with a world record time of 9.58 seconds in the 100m sprint and 19.19 seconds in the 200m race.

Valentino ‘The Doctor’ Rossi is, of course, one of the greatest motorcycle racers of all time, with seven world championships in the MotoGP premier class – he’s the only man to have won world championships in the 500cc two-stroke and 990cc and 800cc four-stroke classes.

Other contenders for the 2010 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award include four-time Laureus winner Roger Federer (Tennis), Hideki Matsui (Baseball), Kenenisa Bekele (long distance runner), Lionel Messi (Football), Alberto Contador (Cycling), Santonio Holmes (American Football), Mitchell Johnson (Cricket), Manny Pacquiao (Boxing), Michael Phelps (Swimming), Andreas Thorkildsen's (Javelin) and Craig Alexander (Triathlon).

‘This promises to be a tremendous fight for this year's Laureus Awards. I can rarely remember a year, outside of the Olympic Games year, when there has been such a strong line-up of potential nominees in the Laureus Sportsman of the Year category. I think the world's media will have a difficult job coming up with a list of just six from all the possible names and I think there is going to be quite a debate over the next few months about who should win,’ says double Olympic gold medallist Edwin Moses, Chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy.

For us, there is no debate here – Valentino Rossi is the one who must win the award, period!

free image hostfree image host
In their own way, both Bolt and Rossi are two of the fastest men in the world...
Post a Comment

Share It