Friday, January 29, 2010

IoM announces TT Zero, TTXGP sidelined again

TTXGP has been shafted once again, while the IoM sets up its own e-bike race series...

Last year, the FIM decided to set up its own electric bike race series (e-Power) and now Azhar Hussain’s TTXGP has been dealt another body blow – this time by the Isle of Man government. While Hussain’s outfit conducted the first zero-emissions electric bike race at the IoM in 2009, this year’s race – named TT Zero – will be promoted by the Isle of Man’s Department of Tourism and Leisure (DTL).

The TT Zero will be a part of the core IoM TT programme and will be open to riders who may also be competing in other TT classes. The one-lap race will be open to zero emissions electric motorcycles and will take place on Wednesday, the 9th of June this year.

As with other TT races, TT Zero will be run by ACU Events Ltd., in compliance with the latest FIM regulations. In addition to the usual prize money available to teams and riders, the Isle of Man Government has also created a £10,000 prize fund for the TT Zero race team that first records a 100mph (160.93km/h) lap around the 37.73-mile course. Last year, Team Agni’s Rob Barber recorded a fastest lap time of 25 minutes 53.5 seconds (87.434mph) in the clean emissions race.

‘We have enjoyed a very successful partnership with TTXGP Ltd., and I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for their hard work last year. We look forward to welcoming many of the electric bike teams and riders back to the Isle of Man in 2010 as well as to seeing new challengers pitting their wits against the Mountain Course,’ says IoM’s Tourism and Leisure Minister, Martyn Quayle.

It would be interesting to see if Azhar Hussain’s outfit will still return to the IoM to compete in the electric bikes race this year...

Race footage from the 2009 TTXGP race at the Isle of Man

No comments:

Random Ramblings